AS THE SEA PARTS is a Virginia-based melodic death metal band that was founded by Paul Vanderslice in 1995. Later that year, Paul teamed up with Erik Sayenga (WARTHRONE, KRISTEL DAWN, ex-DYING FETUS, ex-WITCH-HUNT) on a three-song demo/EP entitled ‘Trilogy of Sorrow.’ The EP was released on cassette, and drew influences from the emerging death/doom scene in Europe as well as the classic Tampa Bay area death metal bands from the early 1990's. Shortly after, AS THE SEA PARTS was joined by guitarist Scott Loose (BRAVE, STELLAR DEATH, DAY OF DEPARTURE, WHILE HEAVEN WEPT), and bassist Jason Ian-Vaughn Eckert (AURORA BOREALIS, TODESBONDEN), and the band began working on a follow-up EP roughly titled '...And the Journey Begins'. The recording was never completed, and in 1999 the band went on a seemingly indefinite hiatus. In 2019, Paul completed writing a new album and resurrected the band with Erik Sayenga and Scott Loose. The new album is entitled ‘Psychosis,’ and picks up where the band left off in the late 1990s – drawing influence from the classics of the genre, while also fusing elements of old school melodic death metal with some aspects of epic death/doom and black metal. A new single has been released on June 4th 2021 titled Psychosis. The new album is set for independent release late 2022/early 2023.

While Heaven Wept has existed in various forms since 1989 and co-founding guitarist/composer Tom Phillips has been the one constant for the past 30 years. Since the beginning, there has been a wide range of influences, transcending forms, styles, and genres from epic metal to kosmiche musik, prog to neo-romanticism.